Home » Dispute resolution services » Professional development » Institute of World Business Law » Council of the ICC Institute of World Business Law


Yves Derains, France
Founding Partner, Derains & Gharavi, France; Former Secretary General, ICC International Court of Arbitration

Yves DerainsYves Derains, former Secretary General of the ICC International Court of Arbitration and Director of the Legal Department of the ICC, is member of the Paris Bar and a founding Partner of the law firm Derains & Gharavi. He is specialized in international arbitration and is acting both as arbitrator and counsel of parties in arbitration proceedings.


Mr Derains is former Chairman of the Comité Français de l’Arbitrage. He was Chairman of the Working Party on the Revision of the ICC Rules of Arbitration in 1998 and Co-Chairman of the ICC Task Force on the Reduction of Costs and Time in international arbitration. He is a member of the French Committee on Private International Law since 1978. He is member of various other organizations specialized in international arbitration and in international business law. He is Honorary Professor of the Law Faculties of San Ignacio de Loyola University and Universidad del Pacifico, Lima, Peru.

Vice Chairs

  • Antonias Dimolitsa, Greece
    Founding Partner, Antonias Dimolitsa & Associates, Greece

dimolitsa antonias.Antonias Dimolitsa has extensive experience in arbitration. She has served as President, Sole Arbitrator, Co-arbitrator and Counsel in numerous international arbitration proceedings. She has been President twice of ad hoc Committees in ICSID Annulment Proceedings. Her areas of specialization include private international law, agency and distribution, construction, energy, EC law, foreign investment, international sales of goods and joint ventures.


She was member of the ICC International Court of Arbitration (1988-1999) and member of the ICC working group on the revision (1998) of the Arbitration Rules, Vice-President of the ICC Commission on Arbitration and member of the DSC Committee of the most recent revision of the ICC Rules (2012). She was Vice-President of the IBA Arbitration Committee and member of the IBA Subcommittee on the revision of the IBA Rules on the Taking of Evidence in International Arbitration (2010). She is Council Member of the Greek Arbitration Association, Member of the Club of Arbitrators of the Milan Chamber of National and International Arbitration and Athens Correspondent of the International Arbitration Institute (IAI).

  • Eric A. Schwartz, USA
    Independent Arbitrator, New York-Paris-London

Eric A. SchwartzEric A. Schwartz was educated at Dartmouth College (B.A.) and Yale University (J.D.) and is a member of the bars of both California and Paris. He was previously a Partner in King & Spalding’s Paris office and a member of the firm’s International Arbitration Practice Group. He was also Vice-President of the ICC International Court of Arbitration. He is currently working as an independent arbitrator, as an arbitrator member of Fountain Court Chambers in London, with an office address in Paris and principal office in New York.

Over the last 30 years, in addition to his tenure at ICC, Eric Schwartz has acted as counsel or as an arbitrator in over 100 international arbitration proceedings under all of the principal international arbitration rules and in all of the principal European arbitration venues, as well as in Africa, Asia and the U.S. He is the co-author (with Yves Derains) of A Guide to the ICC Rules of Arbitration.

Ex-Officio Members

Alexander G. Fessas Secretary General and Director of ICC Dispute Resolution Services, ICC International Court of Arbitration, Paris
John Denton Secretary General, International Chamber of Commerce, Paris
Alexis Mourre Chairman, ICC International Court of Arbitration, Paris
Carita Wallgren-Lindholm Founding Partner, Lindholm Wallgren Attorneys Ltd, Finland, ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR

Council Members

Georges Affaki Professeur des Universités Associé, Partner, Avocat à la Cour ; Affaki – Societé d’avocats ; France
Klaus Peter Berger Professor of Law ; University of Cologne, Center for Transnational Law (central) ; Germany
Fabio Bortolotti Partner ; Buffa, Bortolotti & Mathis Studi Legali ; Italy
David Brown Partner ; Clyde & Co ; France
Nayla Comair-Obeid Founding Partner ; Obeid Law Firm ; Lebanon
Bernardo M. Cremades Senior Partner ; B. Cremades y Asociados ; Spain
Antonio Crivellaro Head of Arbitration Practice ; Bonelli Erede Pappalardo Law Firm ; Italy
Lauro Da Gama e Souza jr Partner ; Lauro Gama Advogados Associados ; Brasil
Filip De Ly Professor of Law ; Erasmus School of Law; Erasmus University Rotterdam ; The Netherlands
Ugo Draetta Arbitrator – Professor of International Law ; Catholic University of Milan ; Italy
Halil Ercüment Erdem Partner ; Erdem & Erdem Law Office ; Turkey
Paul-A. Gélinas Independent Arbitrator ; Paul-A. Gélinas ; France
Andrea Giardina Of Counsel ; Chiomenti Studio Legale ; Italy
Teresa Giovannini Partner ; Lalive ; Switzerland
Jacob Grierson Avocat à la Cour, Barrister ; Asafo & Co ; France
Horacio Alberto Grigera Naón Independent Arbitrator ; United States
Bernard Hanotiau Partner ; Hanotiau & Van Den Berg ; Belgium
Mélida Hodgson Partner ; Jenner & Block ; United States
Laurent Jaeger Partner ; King & Spalding ; France
Kristine Karsten Partner ; Vistalaw ; France
Vladimir Khvalei Partner ; Baker & Mckenzie ; Russian Federation
Richard Kreindler Partner ; Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP ; Germany
Laurent Lévy International Arbitrator, Founding Partner ; Lévy Kaufmann-Kohler ; Switzerland
Julian D.M. Lew Arbitrator ; 20 Essex Street ; United Kingdom
Loretta Malintoppi Of Counsel ; 39 Essex Chambers ; Singapore
Pierre Mayer Sole Practitioner and Avocat au barreau de Paris ; France
Nagla Nassar Partner ; Nassar Law ; Egypt
Carmen Nuñez-lagos International arbitrator ; Founding partner at Nuñez-Lagos Arbitration; France
Michael Polkinghorne Partner ; White & Case LLP ; France
Tarek Riad Managing Partner ; Kosheri, Rashed & Riad ; Egypt
Eduardo Silva Romero Partner ; Dechert LLP ; France
Stacie I. Strong Manley O. Hudson Professor of Law ; University of Missouri ; United States
Hiroyuki Tezuka Partner ; Nishimura & Asahi ; Japan
Alan J. Thambiayah Arbitrator ; The Arbitration Chambers ; Singapore
Dorothy Udeme Ufot SAN Managing Partner ; Dorothy Ufot & Co ; Nigeria
Share This