Governing Body for Dispute Resolution Services

The Governing Body’s mandate is to propose to the ICC Executive Board measures to ensure ICC’s Dispute Resolution Services achieves its principal objectives, including:

The Governing Body for Dispute Resolution Services has the following responsibilities:

  1. Preparation of business plans and policy proposals aimed at furthering the objectives of ICC’s dispute resolution services,
  2. Oversight of the implementation of any proposals of strategic importance regarding the ICC International Court of Arbitration that have been finally approved by the ICC Executive Board and the World Council (as the case may be), including:

The Governing Body is composed of 16 members, including four ex officio members:

The other twelve members, each of whom serve a term of two years (for a maximum of two terms, or four years) are: one member of ICC’s Executive Board, one member of the Finance Committee, and 10 individuals recognised internationally as leaders in the field of international arbitration and alternative dispute resolution: four senior in-house counsel; three from private practice; one senior legal professional with substantial experience in the use of information technologies and two from the judiciary/academia/ public service).

The Chair of the Governing Body is appointed for a term of two years, which may be renewed, by the ICC Executive Board.

ICC Dispute Resolution Services Governing Body members


Mohamed ABDEL WAHAB (Egypt)
Partner, Zulficar & Partners


Liz (Kyo-Hwa) CHUNG (Korea)
Legal Director, Netflix and former Head of Corporate, External and Legal Affairs at Microsoft Korea

Heather GRENIER (United States)
Vice-President, Legal, Apple Inc.

Inka HANEFELD (Germany)
Partner, Hanefeld Rechtsanwalte, Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft mbH

Fernando MANTILLA-SERRANO (Colombia)
Global Co-Chair, Latham & Watkins International Arbitration Practice

Pierre LE MOINE (France)
Member, ICC International Court of Arbitration Finance Committee;
Chief Financial Officer, Groupama Gan Vie

Sundaresh MENON (Singapore)
Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Singapore

Francesca SALERNO (Italy)
Head of Group Significant Litigations, Enel Group 

Technology Adviser to the Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales

Anne Marie WHITESELL (United States)
Professor at the LL.M. Programme and Faculty Director for the Programme on International Arbitration and Dispute Resolution, Georgetown University, Washington D.C.

Tom CLARK (United States)
General Counsel, Asian Development Bank


Emmanuel JOLIVET
General Counsel, ICC and ICC International Court of Arbitration


Maria Fernanda GARZA (Mexico)
Chair, International Chamber of Commerce; CEO, Orestia

ICC Secretary General

President, ICC International Court of Arbitration 

Alexander G. FESSAS
Secretary General, ICC International Court of Arbitration