Home / Dispute resolution services / Professional development / ICC Mediation Week / Mediation Competition application process

Every year, the ICC International Commercial Mediation Competition selects 66 university teams and over 130 professionals to participate.

All applicants and selected universities must make sure they meet all requirements set by the Competition Rules. Below you will find all the necessary and relevant information required to apply.


We draw the applicants’ special attention to the Competition Rules. By submitting an application to participate in the Competition, you are indicating to the Organising Committee that you have read and understood the Rules.

Selection process

Only one team per university will be admitted to participate in the Competition. The team must be a minimum of two students and a maximum of four. Each team can be accompanied by one or two coaches—although it is not mandatory to have a coach.

The Competition is open to students currently enrolled in a college or university. While students of all disciplines may participate, taking on role of the Client, it is imperative that the role of the Counsel be taken by a law student. We strongly encourage business majors to apply.

Please note that pursuant to the Rules, students who have already participated in the ICC Mediation Competition are prohibited to compete for a second time.

The online application for universities opens in July 2017—with two application periods to account for different school schedules throughout the world. The application periods will be announced later in the year.

In each application period, ten places are reserved for universities that have not yet participated in the Competition. Should places for universities applying for the first time not be filled, the remaining places will be offered to returning universities. Universities that have not participated during the two last Competitions (2016 and 2017) will be considered as not having previously participated.


The registration fee per team is calculated according to the number of team members.

University teams with:

  • two students: EUR€500
  • three students: EUR€650
  • four students: EUR€800


  • One coach: Free of charge
  • Second coach: EUR€150

It is mandatory that the full registration fee payment is made prior to the Competition. Teams that do not proceed with the payment of the registration fee within the given timeframe will not be admitted to the Competition.

Each team is responsible for their own expenses—ICC will not cover costs for travel and hotel accommodation.

Cancellation Policy

The basic team registration fee is not refundable. The fee for additional team members (i.e., students or coaches), observers and guests will be refunded if notice of cancellation is received in writing before December 2017. Cancellations after this date will not be refunded.

Please note that we reserve the right to cancel this event at any point in time. In the unlikely event of cancellation, paying participants will be offered a full refund of their registration fees. However, the ICC International Centre for ADR will not be held responsible for any related expense incurred by the participant, such as (but not limited to) travel and accommodation costs.

Application Procedure

The application period for the next Competition is not yet open.


Each year, we accept around 130 trained and experienced professionals from all around the world to participate in the Competition. Professionals serve as mediators in the mock mediation sessions or as judges by evaluating and scoring the students’ performance.

Basic requirements for participation as a professional include, among other things, formal and thorough mediation training, as well as practice in mediating commercial disputes.

Selection process

The Organising Committee selects professionals based on the following criteria:

  • mediation qualification
  • mediation accreditation
  • experience in (commercial) mediation
  • other relevant dispute resolution experience and professional background
  • availability
  • English language skills
  • cross-cultural experience
  • experience in conducting mediation and ADR trainings


While professionals are not expected to be present for the entirety of the Competition, preference will be given to those who with greater availably.

To ensure the quality of the event remains at a high-level, all professionals will be expected to participate in a preparatory training session. This session will take place on the first day of the Competition at ICC’s Global Headquarters.


ICC is not able to cover costs for travel and hotel accommodation, meaning each participant is responsible for his or her own expenses. However, the Organising Committee will provide participating professionals with a list of hotels with which ICC has agreed on special rates.

All professionals are invited to various social events that take place during the Competition.


The application period for the next Competition is not yet open.


Every year a group of international volunteers supports the Organising Committee during the Competition. Volunteers act mainly as “Mediation Session Supervisors” and also help with a wide range of other tasks throughout the event’s duration.

Please note that there will be no monetary compensation for volunteers. As such, all travel, accommodation and other expenses are to be covered by the volunteers directly. However, all volunteers are invited to all social events and will be given the possibility—space permitting—to observe mediation sessions when they are not scheduled for other tasks.

If you are interested in volunteering for the next ICC International Mediation Competition, please contact us via email to receive an application form.