Home » About us » Governance » Governing Body for Dispute Resolution Services

The ICC Governing Body for Dispute Resolution Services (GB-DRS) is a committee of the ICC Executive Board. Its mandate is to propose to the Executive Board measures to ensure ICC’s DRS are capable of achieving principal business and organisational objectives, including:

  • Maintenance of a high-quality service to users;
  • Identification of areas for growth; and
  • Preserving ICC’s reputation as the pre-eminent global institution for resolving disputes.

 The GB-DRS is composed of 13 members having equal rights.  The four ex officio members are:

  • The President and Secretary General of the International Court of Arbitration; and
  • The Chair and Secretary General of ICC.

The other nine members, each of whom shall serve a term of two years (for a maximum of two terms, or four years), are:  two members of the Executive Board, one of whom is also a member of the Finance Committee, and seven individuals recognised internationally as leaders in the field of international arbitration and alternative dispute resolution (three from private practice; three senior in-house counsel; and one from academia/public service). The Chair of the GB-DRS is appointed by the ICC Executive Board for a term of two years and may be renewed.  The Chair may also invite guests to attend GB-DRS meetings with respect to matters under discussion.

The GB-DRS has the following responsibilities:

  1. Preparation of business plans and policy proposals aimed at furthering the objectives of ICC’s dispute resolution services, and submit them for consideration by the Finance Committee and Executive Board for final approval. These include:
    • Preparation and implementation of budgets; and
    • The fixing of policies for recruitment, salaries and IT support.
  1. Oversight of the implementation of any proposals of strategic importance regarding the International Court of Arbitration that have been finally approved by the ICC Executive Board and the ICC World Council (as the case may be), including:
    • Preparation and implementation of new rules;
    • Changes in fees for the International Court of Arbitration services;
    • Opening of a new branch; or
    • Any other matter that is likely to impact ICC’s overall profile/activity.

To ensure proper governance of ICC’s DRS, the GB should:

  • Coordinate as appropriate with other committees of the ICC Executive Board;
  • Establish an appropriate timetable for meetings, with at least three per year; and
  • Prepare reports, which the Chair shall present to the ICC Executive Board.
Share This