ICC Court announces new members

  • 7 June 2017
ICC Arbitration members

The International Court of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) has appointed 41 new members from 38 countries, including many jurisdictions where the ICC is yet to establish a national committee, including Armenia, Azerbaidjan, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Myanmar and Vietnam.

With a concerted effort by the Court to ensure generational, gender and geographical diversity, the latest list of members and alternate members includes nine new members from Africa, nine from Eastern and Central Europe, seven from South East Asia and seven from Latin America. Women represent approximately a quarter of the new members.

President of the ICC Court Alexis Mourre said: “The diversity of new Court members underscores our commitment to ensure the Court draws on the full range of expertise and experience found in our global network.”

Elections took place today in Nairobi during a meeting of ICC’s supreme governing body, the World Council, in accordance with provisions set out in the ICC constitution and statutes of the Court. The term of the new members will expire on 30 June 2018 and will then be subject to renewal for three years.

Members of the ICC Court are appointed by the World Council on the proposal of the local ICC national committee or group or of the President of the Court in jurisdictions where there is no national committee or group, with alternate members appointed by the World Council upon proposal of the President of the Court. The possibility of appointing Court members in jurisdictions where there is no ICC national committee or Group was introduced in the ICC constitution in October 2016 in order to bolster the Court’s global presence.

View the full list of Court members.