Home » About us » Governance » Executive Board

The Executive Board is responsible for developing and implementing ICC’s strategy, policy and programme of action and for overseeing the financial affairs of the world business organization. 

In particular, it is responsible for recommending to the ICC World Council the appointment of the ICC Chairmanship and Secretary General as well as approving all policy documents.

Executive Board members

Fredrik Cappelen Past Chair, ICC Sweden; CEO, Nobia; Chair, Dustin; Chair, Byggmax; Chair, Securitas; Chair, Transcom; Chair, Carnegie Investment Bank; Chair, Cramo OY); Owner, Eterna
Nayla Comair-Obeid Founding partner, Obeid Law Firm; Professor of Private Law and International Commercial Arbitration, Lebanese University- Faculty of Law
Daniel Feffer (Brazil) 2015-2021
Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors, Suzano Papel e Celulose S/A; Vice-President of the Board and CEO, Fundacao Arymax; President, Instituto Ecofuturo; Member, Institute of Research for Industrial Development (IEDI); Member, Competitive Brazil Movement; Member, Federation of Industries of the State of Sao Paulo; Chair, ICC Brazil; Board Member, Institute of International Relations and Foreign Trade (IRICE)
Robert Gutsche (Germany) 2015-2021
Chief Executive Officer of IFA Rotorion, Foerderkreis Freunde der Komischen Oper Berlin; Deputy Chair of the Board, Kreuzberger Kinderstiftung; Member of the Board, ICC Germany
Candace Johnson Vice-Chair, NorthStar Earth and Space; Chair, Advisory Board of Seraphim Space Capital; Co-initiator of SES/ASTRA and Chief Architect of SES Global; Founding President, Europe Online Investments; Founder, Loral Cyberstar-Teleport Europe; Co-founder, Oceania Women’s Network Satellite; Member, Kacific Satellite System Board; Founding President, Association of Private Telecom Operators; Founding President, Global Telecom Women’s Network; Former President, EBAN, the European Business Angel and Early-Stage Investment Network (2014-2018); Co-Founder, ABAN – African Business Angels Network, MBAN, MENA Business Angels Network, Global Business Angels Network; Non-Executive Director, SES-ESL; President Johnson Paradigm Ventures
Giampiero Massolo (Italy) 2018-2021
Chair, Fincantieri S.p.A.; Chair, Italian Institute for the International Political Studies (ISPI)
Xu Niansha (China) 2018-2021
Chair, China Poly Group Corporation; Vice Chair, CCOIC; Chair, ICC China Commission on Corporate Responsibility and Anti-Corruption
Frank Ning (China) 2015-2021
Chair of Board, Sinochem Group; Former Chair of COFCO Corporation and Former Vice Chair and President of China Resources (Holdings) Co. Ltd, Hong Kong; Member of the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection of the CPC; Member of the “13th Five-Year Plan” National Development Planning Expert Panel; Co-Chair, Sustainable Development Working Group of APEC Business Advisory Council; Chair, APEC China Business Council; Chair, Trade & Investment Taskforce for B20
Patrick Obath (Kenya) 2017-2019
Managing Consultant, Eduardo Associates; Director, Trade Mark East Africa, East African Business Council (EABC), Kenya Power and Lighting Company Limited (KPLC), Afren Plc, Standard Chartered Bank; Steering Committee member of Global Green Growth Forum Kenya Chapter, Chair, Director and Programme Leader, Kenya Private Sector Alliance (KEPSA) various sectors.
Mari Pangestu (Indonesia) 2015-2021
Professor of International Economics, University of Indonesia; Member of the Board of Astra International and Bank BTPN; Bank Tabungan Pensiunan Nasional); Government of Indonesia, Minister of Trade (2004-2011) and Minister of Tourism and Creative Economy (2011-2014). Member of the WEF Global Future Council on Trade and Investment
Anne Veronique Schlaepfer (Switzerland) 2016-2022
Co-Chair, Arbitration Committee, International Bar Association; Partner, White & Case; Vice-President, ICC International Court of Arbitration; Member, London Court of International Arbitration
Harsh Pati Singhania (India) 2017-2019
Director, J K Organisation; Vice-Chair and Managing Director, J K Paper Ltd; Past President, ICC India, Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FICCI)
Philippe Varin (France) 2016-2022
Chair of the Board of Directors, Areva; Member, Board of Directors of Saint-Gobain; Chair, Le Cercle de l’Industrie; Special Representative of the French Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development for ASEAN countries
Kok Seng Vong (Macao) 2016-2022
Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors, Macao Chamber of Commerce and ICC Macao; Vice Chair of the Board of Directors, Macao Importers & Exporters Association; President, Macao Shipping & Logistics Association; General Committee President, Macao Consumer Council
Zabihullah Ziarmal  (Afghanistan) 2018-2021
CEO, Cefe Group International; Founding Member and First Vice-Chair, ICC Afghanistan


Hamad Buamim Chair, ICC World Chambers Federation
Sunny Verghese Chair, World Business Council for Sustainable Development

Governance Committee

Patrick Obath Chair
Emmanuel Jolivet Secretary
Hamad Buamim, Monica de Greiff, Emmanuel Jolivet, Nayla Comair Obeid, Harsh Pati Singhania Members

Finance Committee

Philippe Varin Chair
Remi Faure Secretary
Robert Gutsche, Patrick Valroff, Hamad Buamim Members

Dispute Resolution Services Governing Body

Michael McIlwrath Chair
Emmanuel Jolivet Secretary
Laureanne Delmas, Maria Fernanda Garza, Pierrick Le Goff, Yves Derains, Vera van Houtte, Claus Von Wobeser Members
Paul Polman, John Denton, Alexis Mourre, Alex Fessas  Ex-officio

Nominations and Human Resources Committee

Paul Polman Chair
John Denton  Secretary
Ajay Banga, Sunil Bharti Mittal Members

Policy Commissions Committee

To be confirmed Chair
Andrew Wilson Secretary
Fredrik Cappelen, Candace Johnson, Sebastian Escarrer Jaume, Giampero Massolo, Cherie Nursalim, Patrick Obath, Latifur Rahman, Anne Veronique Schlaepfer, Thomas Wellauer, Philippe Varin, Zabihullah Ziarmal Members

Global Networks Committee

Maria Fernanda Garza Chair
Julian Kassum Secretary
Alexis Mourre, Harsh Pati Singhania, Kok Seng Vong, Daniel Feffer, Yassin Al Suroor, Kasemsit Pathomsak, Xi Niansha, Yongmannn Park Members


Share This