Climate change

ICC announces COP21 Photographic Award winners

  • 8 December 2015
ICC Biodiversity

The International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) has announced the winners of its 2015 Photographic Award, a celebration of artistic skill and outstanding photography aimed at drawing attention to—and stimulating dialogue around—the global challenge of climate change.

Winners of the Award, an official Paris Climate Conference (COP21) event, were announced this evening during an exhibition featuring shortlisted works held at ICC Global Headquarters in Paris, during the landmark climate talks.

The first prize-in the contest’s inaugural year-was won by Huzzatul Mursalin of Bangladesh for An Unusual Funeral- a striking depiction of residents of the Bangladeshi Island Kutubdia symbolically paying their respects to dried earth and dead trees.

The judges were impressed by this highly evocative work taken in one of the most vulnerable areas of the world to climate change.

We hope that the Award visibly demonstrates the need to take urgent action to tackle the defining issue of our time.

John Danilovich, ICC Secretary General and chairman of the Award’s judging panel said: “Entries to the Award powerfully captured the scale and human dimension to the climate challenge. We hope that the Award visibly demonstrates the need to take urgent action to tackle the defining issue of our time.”

Dipayan Bhar of India placed second with his entry Effects of Climate Change; and the ICC Young Photographer of the Year prize was awarded to Qingshan Wang of China for The Earth Triptych.

The inaugural ICC Photographic Award invited professional and amateur photographers from all over the world to submit entries reflecting on the theme of #OurClimate: from the causes and impacts of a changing climate, through to our response (past, present or future) to one of the biggest challenges facing humanity. It attracted over 1,000 submissions from photographers-both amateur and professional-in over 60 countries.

Winners were selected by a distinguished judging panel comprising:

John Danilovich
Secretary General of the International Chamber of Commerce

Harold (Terry) McGraw III
Chairman of the International Chamber of Commerce

Pio Cabanillas Alonso
Lawyer, entrepreneur and political figure

Christiana Figueres
Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change

David Mayer de Rothschild
British environmentalist and head of Sculpt the Future Foundation

Arancha Gonzalez
Executive Director of the International Trade Centre

Naziha Mestaoui
Belgian-Tunisian avant-garde artist

Bernhard Schwager
Head of Sustainability, Bosch

Ami Vitale
American photojournalist

#OurClimate preselected photos