World Chambers Federation

2015 Oslo Business for Peace Award Winners Announced

  • 26 April 2015
ICC Responsible business

The International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) and the Business for Peace Foundation are proud to announce winners of the 2015 Oslo Business for Peace Award.

The Oslo Business for Peace Award is given annually to exceptional global business leaders as the highest form of recognition for efforts to foster peace and stability in the business community.

“Each award recipient shows how business leaders can contribute to global development  through their efforts to promote responsible business conduct,” said ICC Secretary General John Danilovich. “As the world business organization, we are proud to continue supporting the advancement of these awards in recognition of these inspiring business leaders.”

The 2015 Business for Peace Honourees are:

  • Juan Andres Cano, Colombia: Mr Cano is CEO of Semilla, an ethics consultancy, and Value4Chain, a technological platform dedicated to sustainability management for businesses. He is also founder of PeaceStartup, an initiative of Value4Chain (Colombia) and Business and Human Rights (Spain).
  • Merrill Joseph Fernando, Sri Lanka: Mr Fernando is the founder of Dilmah, Sri Lanka’s leading tea brand. He considerably changed the structure of the tea trade and shares a minimum 10 percent of the pre-tax profit to fund the work of his MJF Charitable foundation.
  • Zahi Khouri, Palestine: Mr Khouri and his family escaped the war of 1948, moving to Lebanon. In 1995, with Palestinian partners, Khouri launched the Palestinian National Beverage Company, and established and funded the Zahi Khouri Fellowship Program, providing Palestinian American students and graduates the experience of professional development in Palestine.
  • Poman Lo, Hong Kong, China: Ms Lo is a Hong Kong-based businesswoman and Group Managing Director of Regal Hotels International. She launched, a website combining education, entertainment and technology and integrating educational games, intelligence assessment and multimedia content.
  • Paul Polman, United Kingdom: CEO of Unilever, Polman is a leading voice in sustainability. He is Chairman of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development. Under Polman’s leadership, Unilever has set out an ambitious vision to double its corporate size while reducing its overall environmental footprint and increasing its positive social impact.

Each award recipient shows how business leaders can contribute to global development through their efforts to promote responsible business conduct.

Honourees are selected by an independent jury of Nobel Prize winners in Peace and in Economics after a global nomination process by the Business for Peace Foundation, ICC, United Nations Global Compact and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

An award ceremony will take place on 6 May at the Oslo City Hall with a full programme of activities. On the eve of the event, ICC Secretary General John Danilovich will give a keynote speech during a welcome reception hosted by the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

“All of the 2015 honourees are remarkable examples of individuals [who] are applying their business energy ethically and responsibly in the interest of also creating a positive impact for society. The Foundation is pleased to recognize their efforts,” said Per L. Saxegaard, Business for Peace Foundation Executive Chairman.

ICC national committees as well as local chambers of commerce, members  of the ICC World Chambers Federation (WCF), UN Global Compact and UNDP local offices assist in the global nomination process for the Business for Peace Award by leveraging their respective networks in the search for outstanding business people who have been able to achieve business success while acting in an ethically responsible way.

View the full profiles of the Business for Peace Award honourees.

For more information, visit the Business for Peace Award page.

ICC World Chambers Federation.

The 2015 Oslo Business for Peace Award winners will be recognized in a ceremony on 6 May 2015, at the Oslo City Hall.